Skip to content

“You’re a real mechanic now, ha-ha!”

December 8, 2011

That’s what my dad said to me when I shrieked into the phone, “Oh, shit, I got brake fluid in my eye!” He had been coaching me, twelve-hundred miles away, while I was working on my car.  I stayed on the phone with him while I ran upstairs and washed my eyes out.

Dad thought it was hilarious.  I wish I could hear Dad’s laugh again.  “You’ve been christened!” he announced.

If Dad were here now, I would tell him about Transmissions class the other day.  I was putting the pan back onto the transmission, and I inadvertently opened my mouth (only slightly) and some of the Automatic Transmission Fluid leaked right into my mouth.

Mmm, tangy.  Actually, it wasn’t tangy.  It was kinda dry and dull, but with an undefined bite to it, sort of like vermouth.  However, I wouldn’t suggest mixing ATF into your drinks.

Today, I was at the meeting for the race team, and I was trying to extract a gauge from its sheet-metal housing.  I sliced my finger open in two places, tried to staunch the bleeding without anyone noticing, and then wrapped a paper towel around it.

“Don’t you want a band-aid for that?” someone asked.

“No, I’m good,” I said.

“Are you sure . . . ?”

“Yeah.  I’ll just wait for the bleeding to stop.”

“Just like a mechanic.”

I was reminded of my Dad, and he probably would have laughed and said, “Like father like daughter.”  Who wants to waste time putting on a band-aid when you can just keep working?

I always cut myself when I’m working on a car, but it never hurts.  The cuts that happen while you’re doing something that you love are never quite so bothersome as injuries that happen when you’re doing something you can’t stand.

Well, Dad, I guess I am a real mechanic after all.  Wish you could see me now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikey permalink
    December 8, 2011 6:31 pm

    This is great, made me tear up a bit. He’d be proud (:
    Love you sis, miss you.

    • December 8, 2011 11:26 pm

      I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 I miss you too. I’ll be seeing you soon, though! Love you. — hugs —

  2. January 17, 2012 6:49 pm

    I’ve awarded you the Versatile Blogger Award! You can see the rules on my post: http://katepolicani.com/2012/01/17/the-versatile-blogger-award/
    I included your blog and your author page in the post.

Leave a Reply

